harnessing the power of photography for good

Choose to Serve

Your open suitcase is still sitting on your bedroom floor with clothes hanging half out.  You awoke at 4 a.m. this morning, wide-awake and unable to get back to sleep. You have 300 unread emails and 200 voice-mail messages.   You recently returned from a mission trip!

A couple days after returning home, you turn your attention to laundry, catching up on missed work and trying to figure out what to do about the jet lag. You may not be thinking about putting your thought about the trip down on paper, but you should, it will help you process your feelings. Here are some questions to ask your self:

  • Was I effective on this trip?
  • What would I like to make sure I don’t do again?
  • What have I learned from God about myself on this trip?
  • What have I learned from other people that I would like to incorporate into my life?
  • What have I learned through my experience on the mission field
  • What will I change about my day-today life?
  • What have I seen God do in the lives of the people to whom I ministered. *

The faces of the people of Oaxaca are imprinted on your mind. You have seen their pain &  for a brief time, you became a part of their lives, and they became a part of yours, What will you do next?

The trip is over but it can be just the beginning. Consider the impact it has had on your life. Don’t allow yourself to fall into old patterns and routines. Choose to serve rather than being served. God will continue to bless you as you share your experience with your friends and encourage them to also serve on a trip with Adventures In Life.

* Excerpt from Ministry Travel Blog

Follow Adventures In Life & MISSION focused on Facebook

Leave a Reply

