harnessing the power of photography for good

Oaxaca 2012 :: tecnologia’ desafiada

tecnologia’ desafiada = technology challenged

This was the theme for today in Oaxaca.  It shouldn’t have been so.

I was able to get some work done but my computer was acting up, more than ususal for those who know how messed up my computer is…but it works, that’s what matters.  Thankfully there have been no issues with my camera so while I couldn’t do much editing and posting most of the day, I was able to keep shooting.  This is home base…where I work when I’m not running around taking photos of the men this week.  That’s the computer in question, currently working….to the left, a Toshiba laptop donated by someone from the Rock to the Jesus Geeks, who in turn washed and waxed it and donated it to Americo and Norma, to be used at the training center thats being worked on this week and for use by the local church.  This week the men are using it to check in with family back in the states.The machine that Adventures in Life and Harvesting Hope have to drill wells with needed some work done on the drive shafts.  Some of the men who were in Oaxaca in January with Harvesting Hope took back to the States the drive shaft, to have a new one machined.  Sean brought it with him when he came to Oaxaca this week.  When Dave and Chable’ started to put the drive shaft together, it was just a hair too thick.  Thankfully, there is a metal machine shop that has a metal lathe in order to adjust the drive shaft to make it work.   The photo above is of the machinist working on the drive shaft.Dave and some of the guys from Harvesting Hope came to this same shop 2 weeks ago and they were amazed at how many old classic machines they had, and that they still worked.

One of the machines was an old Lodge & Davis Machine Tool Company of Cincinnati, Ohio.  I did a little searching online and saw an old Lodge & Davis machine, reportedly from the 1890’s, that looked newer than the machine above.I know that in the States, most metal lathe machines are computer controlled…but the machinist in Tlacolula got the job done old school style with a good caliper, a good eye and the human touch.

I started to think tonight, with my computer now cooperating… Canon recently unveiled  their new flagship EOS 1DX and Nikon just announcing the new D800 & D800E…do we need more technology and more megapixels?  I’m using and still loving my EOS 5D.  Not too long ago I was walking through church when this kid I know walked up to me and saw my camera on my shoulder.  He said something like “ohhhh, is that the 5D Mark II!?”  I said nope, I’m rolling with the original 5D.  He immediately lost interest and walked away….

Really!  I felt like smacking the kid up side the head!  Is that what it’s come down to.  Unless you have the latest and greatest camera, you don’t matter or you can’t take great photos….just so there is no question, the answer is NO!

That old Toshiba lap top will be a blessing to the local church and to Americo & Norma.  And as hard as it might be, I will strive to serve Jesus and take photos that honor Him with my viejo(old) 5D.

Praise God for old technology!

Leave a Reply

