harnessing the power of photography for good

Looking Beyond…

I’ve been inside the Cathedral de Oaxaca numerous times over the past few years.  I never paid attention to some of the details, or I just never “looked” long enough.  Looking beyond the gate, I noticed the cross with the sun…

I’ve seen this lady walking the courtyard in front of Iglesia de San Matias Jalatlaco, which is next door to Casa Arnel, for the last 3 mornings.  At first I thought she might be praying the rosary, but no beads.  Watching her, she appears to be praying.  I must have watched her for at least 20 minutes this morning while I was reading Proverbs and listening to some Hillsong praise music.  It made me think, in light of the worship series Pastor Miles is going through right now, am I fully worshiping Jesus with my life?

The details really jumped out at me, and as I watched two gals try to light a candle below, I saw Jesus(really).

I saw this candle of Jesus.  Yes I know…He doesn’t look like this.  As I was trying to get a photo that I liked, it became a reminder to me that I need to keep focused on Him.  In my photography and my life as a whole.  That there are things in my life that I’ve taken for granted, I don’t know if it’s because it’s always been there or that I’ve “seen this before” as in some of the details in the cathedral…
I am truly excited to be in Oaxaca.  My biggest prayer is that I would be focused on getting the images that need to be seen.  The images that would glorify Him and best show what He is doing in Oaxaca.  This being my third men’s week, I want to view it as if it’s my first time here.  There are men who are here for the first time, along with guys who have been down to Oaxaca multiple times over the years.  
If I keep focused on the Cross of Christ and remember why He had to die on the cross…I have no choice but to humble myself and realize I am in no position to ask for anything other than that Christ would be glorified in my life.
Please keep me and the men in prayer.  That the work gets done in a manner and spirit that brings Christ glory!
Soli Deo Gloria
Leave a Reply

