harnessing the power of photography for good

Observations, Ocotlan & Being Yoked

Walking down the street from Casa Arnel, on the way to Ocotlan and guess what I see in the car window…Go Chargers!

The view from the road to Ocotlan…

On the bus ride to Ocotlan….reading God’s Word! 

Pineapples!  Lots of Pineapples!

Walking through the market I saw this Dad talking to his son…it looked as if he was encouraging his son, he had a big smile as he was talking with him and gesturing and holding his son’s head in what can only be described as a loving manner.  Not sure who the other kid was, if it was his brother or friend, but he was smiling too, even though you can’t see his face in the photo.  Trust me, it was all good.

I love all the colors in the market, but unfortunately they use these blue and red tarps to cover and shield the market area from the sun…but it casts this blue and red shade on everything.  So when i saw these beautiful bell peppers in the sun I had to get this photo!  I wish yall could have seen this in real time…the colors just popped!!

I took this photo for Cyndy…since she couldn’t make it this time to Oaxaca and seems to only know how to take photos of flowers and her dog!

These guys don’t look so happy… after-all it is market day in Ocotlan and they’re for sale!

I love how big and colorful the churches are in Mexico.  Yes it is a Catholic Church.  But It doesn’t stop me from acknowledging the God I serve and having reverence and awe for how big He is and how small I am!  And remembering that He died on the cross for my sin that I might have life and breath…to serve Him with my whole heart.

Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.
(Matthew 11:29-30 ESV)

What a great reminder…this yoke weighed about 40 pounds.  Can’t imagine trying to roll with this on my back for more than a few seconds.  It reminds me that I need to trust Christ first and foremost for all my needs.  That while I was the only photographer able to make it to Oaxaca this time, it is a team effort.  The work is made easier and less burdensome with the help of many hands.  I believe that’s why we are told in Hebrews

And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.
(Hebrews 10:24-25 ESV)

I am encouraged by what I see in Oaxaca…and the main work hasn’t begun yet.  It was a great day with God!

Leave a Reply

