harnessing the power of photography for good

iaomai guatemala 2011::cant hold me down

as i sit and try to process what just happened…i am sitting in a covered patio area of hotel santo domingo, in antigua, guatemala. Im pretty tired, physically and spiritually.having fun with dr buckmiller…

I had a brief discussion with a friend of mine, not too long ago about the idea of being spiritually exhausted. He couldnt quite understand the concept in terms of being exhausted of doing good…

as i have the privilige to serve and use my gifts to document what God is doing, both here in guatemala and in san diego, ive become accustomed to this feeling and i almost welcome it. As a result im the more convinced that this spiritual “exhaustion” is part of Gods sanctification process in my life. My faith isnt a touchy feely kind of thing, and my friend is someone i respect and consider him to be wise council in my life. But there are times when it all comes together and the emotions come to play…so whats i guy to do…naturally i go to Gods Word.

looking to Jesus on the cross, John tells us that

Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfill Scripture), “I thirst.”  When Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished,”  and He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.  (John 19:28,30 ESV)

im thinking, and im no scholar, Jesus was physically and spiritually tired. His work was done! He was ready to go home and be with His Father. We now have access to God the Father because the work of Christ on the cross!

and Paul encourages us to “not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we dont not give up.”   (Galatians 6:9 ESV)

dont grow weary of doing good.   dont get tired.

This is exemplified in the life of paul when he says “I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.”

(1 Corinthians 9:27 ESV)

mom with her smiling son, heading home

i am thankful that God is not done with me yet. That as i seek Him daily and strive to be more like Him in all that I do, He will continue to mold and shape me into the man of God He has created me to be.

I am thankful for bringing me here to guatemala and for the new friends ive met.

I am thankful that He allowed me to see His Work, through the hands of those who came to serve this week, up close and personal.  Hopefully in the next few days and weeks i can continue to share more photos and stories of what God allowed me to witness.

That He would be Glorified!

One response

  1. Alexandra Motz

    I’m reminded what Scripture says that the Lord finished creating and “rested” on the 7th day. I don’t think God was tired himself, but was giving us permission to step back contemplate and enjoy our hardwork and say that “It is good”.

    October 9, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

