harnessing the power of photography for good

2011 Rock Women’s Retreat

God reminded me just how much He is able to provide over my life when I received news from Brother Joe that I was able to go to the the Women’s Retreat this year.  All I can think of was Ephesians 3:20.  He does give beyond what we ask or think of!  Love my Spiritual brothers and sisters so much!  Not only did He provide me the financial means, but He also provided me the very spiritual support necessary for me to have with sisters before stepping into a new season in my life in a few months: the season of marriage.

Fellowship was wonderful and Laurie Cole was such a great speaker for this year’s Women’s Retreat.  She focused on the topic From Bitter to Sweet, using the book of Ruth as reference to her sermons.  What I got out of this retreat was how we find ourselves being like Naomi sometimes, a women who was bitter of losing everything in her life and not recognizing the very blessing of a Ruth right in front of her during the storm.  Powerful worship was lead by Toni Dejesus-Coloma, After Eden, and the worship team of the Women’s Ministry.  On Saturday morning, we were all blessed with a devotional lead by Teresa Holderby.  Empowering workshops were lead Saturday evening by Kirsten Strawn, Lisa Gordon, and Victoria Thomas.

Going to these retreats for four consecutive years now, I can honestly say it never gets old!  There is so much power when two or more come together in His name!  I invite any woman considering to go to go.  Special shout out to the two gentlemen (Jim and Brother Joe) for coming out and making each woman feel special at the photo-booth set up!

to see the photo-booth pics please click on www.MISSIONfocused.smugmug.com

One response

  1. Victoria Thomas

    Raquel…job well done and so happy about your engagement and soon to be marriage. Can’t wait to see you guys out at the All Married Cafe’s after the “I do’s.” Thanks for sharing your gifts and talents with us, but most of all your presence. May God continue to love you with His everlasting love is my prayer.
    Your sistah-friend, Victoria

    August 30, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

