harnessing the power of photography for good

Oaxaca, MX: The Photo Fun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well we have been in Oaxaca Mexico for the last three days and the Lord has been good to me as we have toured the local communities, churches, pyramids, ruins, and natural landscape beauty.  I say the Lord has been good to me because I realize that we have it so good in the US.  Now here in Oaxaca we can get many of the favorites in the US like Coke, Italian Gilatto, and Corn Flakes but also get to enjoy much of the rich Mexican cuisine.  We may not always have hot water and some other creature comforts but the people here are awesome and I’m enjoying the tourist side with an insiders look.  I’ll post another blog soon about our tour guide and mission director Dave Miller.

Now the Lord has been good to me but it has come with obstacles.  The last two weeks before the trip, like most times we are doing His work, we face things that have us doubting our abilities or desire to help others.  Patience and perseverance are important any time we do the works that further the name of Jesus.  The first day here was an incredible despite having been pick-pocketed, having to cancel my ATM and credit card, and losing my drivers license in the process.  God shows us that we need to rely on Him to assist us when we have things removed from us.  Thank God that He has put some very special people in my life who were quick to come to my assistance like Cyndy lending me her cell phone, Terry getting me a number to contact a credit card company or Brother Joe helping me to pick up food and other expenses along the way.  I thank each of them for being in my life and being so quick to help a Brother-In-Christ out.

Matthew 6:25-34

25“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?

26“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? 28And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

31“So do not worry, saying, `What shall we eat?’ or `What shall we drink?’ or `What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I’m really looking forward toward our mission work which I will blog about soon.  Enjoy the slide show of the other images I have shot since Monday.  More to come soon so please keep checking the site.

Blessings,

Jim Wanglund

Mission-Focused Photographer

Leave a Reply

