harnessing the power of photography for good

ASK Prayer 08/14/2010

Ephesians 3:20-21  Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Do you need prayer?  Are you a prayer warrior?  Every few months the Rock has an event called ASK that allows people who attend to get prayer and have people pray for them.  We all have our difficulties in this world and sometimes we feel helpless.  This is where prayer comes in…  when you can call upon our Abba Father to help us with our troubles in this world.

Often we think of prayer as something we do in private or it is something between one individual and God.  In reality it is so much more powerful when you come together with friends and complete strangers who are broken.  Together we can pray for one another for strength, wisdom, and healing.  There is nothing quite like it and the power of prayer in small groups or collectively as community is so much better.

For me personally it was amazing.  I have never really thought of myself as a prayer leader but God took me out of my comfort zone again and again on Saturday.  I had to put the camera down as He was calling many times over the 12 hours I served Him.  You would think that I would have been drained after 24 hours of fasting and 12 hours of prayer and worship but for me it was just the opposite.  I normally do well in groups of people that I know, praying for friends and family.  This time I lead multiple times with people who had some pretty extreme issues like people living with cancer and broken relationships.  People feeling lonely and not knowing that they are not alone, only if they have Jesus in their lives.  God worked through me in ways that I cannot explain.  I have never considered myself an eloquent person of prayer but I just opened my heart to Him and He did the rest.  God you are amazing and you are constantly showing me new things.  You have gone from a whisper in my ear to You speaking clearly that I need to move here or Do Something there.  You have also moved me physically in way that I have not felt in a while. Thank you Lord for using me to help heal others pain by caring and praying for those in need.  For assisting those that are lonely and giving comfort to those are broken, I thank you.   Even though I work hard to please you, sometimes just opening my heart a little more is all you need from me and I thank you for leading the way.  You are awesome!

In Him,

Jim Wanglund

Rock Photographer

Leave a Reply

