harnessing the power of photography for good

2010 Rock Women’s Retreat

I AM THE ONE YOU NEED

The Lord said, “No one will be able to stand against you as long as you live.  I will be with you, just as I was with Moses.  I will not leave you or forsake you.” –Joshua 1:5

This year’s speaker for the annual Women’s Retreat was LaRoya V. Jordan.  She spoke of the power one receives as God’s empowered woman.  E.M.P.O.W.E.R.E.D. stands for Essential, Motivated, Persistent, Obedient, Willing, Effective, Reverent, Encouraging, and Determined.  This is my 3rd Retreat with the Rock, 2nd time serving as their photographer.  I am truly blessed whenever I capture moments God allows me to take.  Nothing is better to me than seeing women surrendering their lives to the Lord.  I was also able to just allow God to romance me this year.  Camera in my backpack, Bible in my hand, I walked over to the Hot Springs alone and dipped my feet in, expecting at any moment to witness something to take with my camera.  But the Lord had better plans for me.  During the time of 2-4pm on Saturday, I just sat there and took everything in.  I was reading the book of Psalms and all I can hear God saying was, “Am I beautiful, Raquel?”  “Yes Lord,” I replied, “You are.”  And how can I not?  Nothing but beauty surrounded me.

“The Lord reigns, He is clothed with majesty; The Lord is clothed, He has girded Himself with strength.  Surely the world is established, so that it cannot be moved.” –Psalm 93:1

Leave a Reply

