harnessing the power of photography for good

Lessons

The first day in Mexico was somewhat uneventful, that is until we left Mexico City. As soon as I entered the cabin of the aircraft I found that my relatively new I-phone was missing, and on my return to Mexico City I had found it had not been returned. Two of my companions said forget that phone, it has gone the way of the dinosaur, at least as far as I was concerned. I refused though to lose faith in my fellow man, I thought, “I’d turn it into Lost and found, so why not someone else.”

It was not returned, and I was without a phone, and whoever found it had a phone with two e-mail accounts and all my contact information for the taking and no telling what else.

After this I thought what is the Lord GOD saying? Is any kind of Mission work in my future? Allow me to explain why I was thinking this way.

My first Mission Outreach was a two year stint in Russia, just before I left my Father died. We never had a good relationship but still it hurt some. He did not know the Lord and my prayer was the He would send someone in his last days to share, I do not know if that happened or not. Six months after I went to Russia my son died. That was the hardest, most sorrowful moment of my life. I wish I could have changed places with him, but I could not. I hung up the phone at 3am Russian time after my Mother told me what had happened. You know the words that Jesus said, “I will never leave or forsake you,” are often words with little real comprehension until it happens. When one is stripped bare and you have nothing but Jesus, no matter what you have, you really having nothing but Jesus. But when something tragic like this happens it takes on a whole new meaning and reality.

After I hung up the phone I fell on my knees and cried out in pain, I couldn’t even pray, I just wept. I finally said, after what seemed a moment in time and an eternity at same time, I love you Lord, I love you. I don’t understand but I trust you, I praised him not for my sons death but I praised the Lord GOD for who He was, I don‘t know if those were my exact words but that was the sense of my prayer. And then, and it seemed so real it was almost physical, and maybe it was, I felt GOD take me in His arms, hold me close in His lap, and heard in that still, small, peaceful voice, I love you, I am not going to change what happened, I know how you feel, I watched my son die, I love you. Hearing the Lord say I love you is one thing, but experiencing His love is a whole new dimension of love that is beyond words, it has to be experienced.

I told Satan and anyone that would listen that nothing, nothing, nothing will ever turn me away from GOD. Job, and I am not comparing myself to Job, said, “Even though He slay me, still I will trust Him.” I say amen!

Within A year after I returned from Russia my Mother died. It was another hard time but what I grew to miss most was her prayers. She was a prayer warrior and I was one of her top subjects or projectx, and the Lord knows I need all the help I can get.

When I went to the Cayman Islands I was in agony for the whole time, except in my sleep. Even though the cell phone was not a big thing in the scheme of things, it was kind of the proverbial straw that broke the camels back.

So I asked, “Is mission type of stuff out for me, or is it something you want for me. After all me and missions seemed a hard row to hoe.. The Lord said, “Just because it is easy does not mean it is my will and because it is hard does not mean it is not. Be faithful to your gifts and obey what I ask you to do. I ever said it’d be easy, but I did say I’d never forsake you, you’d never go it alone.”

I guess I said all that to encourage those that may face hard times and choices to remain faithful to GOD and be head over heels in love Him. And no matter what you have a loving Father in Heaven who will never leave or forsake you.

As we strive to do what God has for us we need to realize or I need to realize the value is in the eternal not the fleeting things of life. I will not be remembered for how much money I made, or the kind of photos I took. I will be remembered for the lives I touched for Christ, lives are the eternal and what can not be burned. Our true treasure,

Leave a Reply

