harnessing the power of photography for good

{Reaping & Sowing}

{Reaping & Sowing}

It’s been a crazy, at times, never ending two weeks.  I leave for Haiti in a week and while I’m excited I know I haven’t spent as much time on my knees and in the Word as I should be.  It’s amazing how the good things in life can become the detriment of a love, intimate relationship with Jesus.  I realize in a very tangible way who was sustaining me over the past two months and it definitely wasn’t the calendar on my iPhone, it was my quiet time with the Lord.  In many of my IMPACT classes they talk about reaping what you sow, while this is a familiar concept to most of us, it hadn’t hit me until recently what a powerful truth that really is.  Some of the teachers have brought to my attention that what I am reaping today is often what I was sowing weeks and even months ago.

“A man reaps what he sows.  The one who sows to please his sinful nature, for that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.”
{Galatians 6:7b-8}


The time I was so close and intimate with the Lord was what I was sowing a couple months ago and now the word to describe my world is: overstimulating.  Between working 12-15 hour days and not taking intentional sabbath days away, it’s quickly catching up to me.  I can’t tell you how happy I am that I am finally getting away for some silence and solitude tomorrow!  All this to say, don’t become so busy and caught up in the doing that you miss out what counts.  As I sometimes say to myself and people around when it comes to material, temporary things, “You can’t take that with you to Heaven!”  Remember Jesus isn’t going to ask at the Bema Seat (judgment seat of Christ for Christians), “Where’s your Coach purse or your Maserati or your La Jolla Shores beachfront property?”  He’s going to ask if you did any of this in His name…

“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.  He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn… to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.” {Isaiah 61:1-3}

As I reflect on leaving for Haiti, this is my heart and I’m sharing it with you, not to judge or bring guilt, but to stir my heart and yours for a life and calling that is bigger than you!  Allow the Holy Spirit to bring healing to your heart and overflow to a hurting world around you.  Just because I am going somewhere tangible to exercise this, souls are no more lost in Haiti than in San Diego, Hawaii, Washington, Oregon and many other places I know this blog is being followed.
The Lord has been breaking my heart with His love and I hope you will allow Him to do the same for you.  Please stay tuned for one more post before I leave for Haiti with prayer requests for the team.
I love you and more importantly Jesus loves you so much He died for you so that you could enter into His peace, rest and joy forever!
“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.” {John 3:16-17}

Leave a Reply

