harnessing the power of photography for good

WWJS? Anything that blesses!

I was asked the question, “What would Jesus Shoot?” by Brother Joe, the leader of the Photography Ministry. After a lengthy discussion, we came to the conclusion that Jesus would shoot as an act of service. He would offer his gifts to bless those that needed it the most. I’ve wanted to develop a project for a long time in which I offer free senior portraits to high school seniors who otherwise wouldn’t be able to get them done. The main reason for this is because I was one of them. When I was in high school, the cheapest senior portrait package was $250. Being a girl from a single-parent family, it seemed like an unnecessary luxury. Even though I really wanted them and I cringed with envy every time my friends gave me a wallet of their portraits and I couldn’t give them one of mine, I didn’t want to put undue financial pressure on my mom.

Keranisha is involved in the Milestone House program which offers on-site tutoring, educational therapy, reading enrichment programs, independent living skills training, and individual career counseling for at-risk teens. It was an honor to serve and do what I love while giving her these memories she can keep forever. We had a lot of fun taking pictures of her along the boardwalk of Oceanside Pier and she was effortlessly photogenic!

I dropped off some prints and a CD of images for her a couple days ago. As she thanked me relentlessly, I realized that this really is what Jesus would shoot. He would want to bring the smiles to their faces, warm their hearts and just plain bless them!

I am currently looking for more high school seniors that are in a federal or state funded program, foster youth program, are homeless or are part of a low-income household. Please contact me at malia@maliadadez.com if you are interested or would like to nominate a program or individual for my project.

b-room

laugh

shoulder

closeup

splat

Leave a Reply

