harnessing the power of photography for good

Cayman 2010: Jesus in the Schools

As I strolled through my assigned school Monday, John A Cumber, and Wednesday Savanna and Bodden Primary I was once again amazed at how foreign schools and students are so polite. Not that they do not have troubled youth, but they are a decided minority.

I worked in schools in Russia for a year and have had some contact with schools in almost every country I’ve been in, and it never fails to amaze me at how, for the most part, the students are very well mannered and studious.
It seems that for U. S. students there is no expectation for excellence and thus they rise to the level of mediocrity which is expected of them. I guess those that are in authority in the education system in the U. S. are more concerned with little Johnny’s feelings or little Mary’s self esteem than producing young adults that can compete on the world stage or show some modicum of being educated beyond Kindergarten.

In Russia I met kids that could name all fifty of our States and the Capitals as well as much of our history, such as who Presidents Washington, Jefferson or Lincoln is and their contribution to history and the U. S. is not their country. While our students have trouble naming the Capital of their own state and think Washington is a street, Jefferson and Lincoln are schools. I have listened to ‘Man on the Street,‘ and sadly some college students and adults can’t answer those questions.  OK, I may be exaggerating a little here, but regretfully it has some merit.

I was at a Culture Center in Russia and I remember an eight year old girl said, “I’ve read, ‘War and Peace,’ three times, what are your kids reading?” And I replied, “Nintendo.”

One reason, I believe, is that they have some instruction in values and ethics.  When I went to Russia with the CoMission we were charged by  the Minister of Education with teaching Values and Ethic based on the life of Christ. Where in the U. S. can that be done? No where! It seems it is preferable to invite gangs, tennis shoe pimps and dealers to our schools than Jesus and  a culture of values.

But I digress, I believe that the reason for the high level of kindness and politeness can be traced back to the lack of fear in praying and mentioning Jesus. While in the States there is a morbid fear among Progressives against any mention of Christ, a fear so strong they will sacrifice their children, not on an altar of tolerance but an altar of intolerance for anything that is a threat to their life of slavery, shared by those lost to a life of sin and degradation.

While at Cumber, a public school, I looked at the curriculum from 1st form to 6th form and in the first year was included a comparative religion course, progressing to the life, crucifixion, and resurrection of Jesus in the sixth year.
At Savanna the teacher prayed with her students before snack, and none of the students, including the non-Christian students, were offended. During one assembly over 80 kids prayed a prayer of Salvation.

If Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday are any indication of God moving, then the Festival Friday and Saturday will be off the charts.

Terry Schwartz

One response

  1. these are some great shots Terry, well done my friend!

    May 13, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

