harnessing the power of photography for good

Simply Worship in the Sanctuary

“They came and held Him by the feet and worshiped Him” – Matthew 28:9

IMG_0083

Praise and Worship, musically speaking,  has always been one of my most favorite things to do. Even as a young child who loved to sing since I learned to speak, my first time singing a worship song was magical. I remember it was “Lord I Lift Your Name on High” and they had the words printed on paper for us.  I took the paper home and I sang it until I memorized it and I sang it over and over again. It was then that I knew I had a heart for worship. But it wasn’t until I grew older and more mature in my faith that I realized worship is much more than singing songs. In church it is a personal prayer and a fervent cry to God through song, but outside the building, it becomes each word spoken, each reaction to everything that happens to you, and the kind of heart you show to those you encounter each and every day. Worshiping God becomes a lifestyle and something that is continuous. It is much more than the 5 minute duration of lifting your hands, bowing your head, and reciting the words displayed on the screen. I love worship not only because the lyrics become my personal prayer, but also because I know my heart sings words that I cannot fathom when I lift my hands up to praise Him and smile knowing that he hears those unsung verses of my heart’s song.

IMG_0046

IMG_0023

IMG_0103_edited-1

It was inspiring and encouraging being able to witness the work that God was doing in the sanctuary. Because I was shooting the event, I experienced the event from a different perspective. Rather than facing the stage, I mostly faced the church, His people. I saw individuals pouring out their souls to Jesus as they prayed, cried, sang and danced. I love my images of brothers and sisters embracing one another as they both fixed their eyes on Him, I tried my best to capture those moments!

IMG_0069

IMG_0091

IMG_0025

IMG_0079

IMG_0077

IMG_0098

The last image is of three of my friends. I met them at Young Adult Cafe and over the last month and a half we have explored each others’ characters, daily lives, dreams, struggles, and walks with God. I look forward to every Tuesday night because I know they will be there to hear about my amazing week or comfort me if I’ve had a rough week. I love this image because I have a special place in my heart for these three. I suppose it’s because we all share the same heart for Jesus!

to see more pics from Simply Worship please go to Rock photo-galleries

Leave a Reply

