harnessing the power of photography for good

AMPD Summer Camp…still ministering

we received this comment yesterday from a gal who went to jr hi AMPD summer camp, i thought it would be better if this was posted, so more folks can see the results of all the hard work the jr high leaders put in this past summer. thanks gianna for sharing.  blessings.

From Gianna S.

I think that camp was the best thing that happened to me for a few reasons:
1. It DEFINATELY helped me grow in my walk with God.
-It helped me because the leaders would let you pull them aside and just talk about ANYTHING I felt that way more comfortable talking with the leaders and my friends from camp than I do/did feel talking with my friends from school.
-It also helped me because tuesday was probably the MOST EMOTIONAL day of my life and it was partially because of that I felt more comfortable around other people and why my eyes are now open wider than EVER before!

2. Because I made sooooo many new friends there. To tell you the truth I am VERY shy and quiet…. That is until you get to know me then I will tell you a ton of stories laugh at the STUPIDEST  things and just be crazy, wierd, and just plain all out. Because of tuesday evening I know that I have more in common with other girls than I could have EVER imagined!

3. Camp just opened my eyes soooo much in the short time I was there now I am trying to do more for and with the church. I am going to a homegroup in Linda Vista on tuesdays and am starting my own in point loma on wednesdays, I go to Friday Night Live every week, I want to start going to every service on sundays to start helping out more and just getting involved and DOING SOMETHING! I realized just yesterday (Sunday Sept. 20th 2009) that the more I listen to a lesson the more I understand it and the more comfortable I feel around people. I realized this because when I went to the ten I just went and did what I normally do just sit in the back and listen not answer any questions not volunteer to read verses just opening my bible reading the verses and laughing with all of the other junior highers and I realized that I wanted to stay for the twelve for the first time so I asked my she said sure so I played carpet ball while I waited for everyone to start coming for the service and while I was waiting for it to start I met 3 or four new people that were SUPER nice and during the twelve I answered a question in the service for the FIRST Time and so I went home between the 12 and the five and when I came back I was outside until service started and I realized we were late for worship and so I hurried down the hall and I was in such a hurry that I passed the door so I pretty much did a painful skidding u-turn and walked quickly to a seat in the back and just started singing along and during the five I read a verse thanks to Michelle and Megan, and I also answered the same question and just felt like I learned more and more each time and felt more and more confident too. So thank you leaders and all my camp friends for helping me in my walk with God!

Leave a Reply

