harnessing the power of photography for good

My Gear

Nike or Reebok, Apple or PC, Taylor Swift or Carrie Underwood?

Everyday we’re faced with choices. In the Nikon or Canon decision I chose Nikon. Both are powerful tools that have their own advantages and disadvantages. The reason why I chose Nikon was a simple decision, I was starting off in the field and the photographer I worked with used Nikon. As we all know camera equipment isn’t cheap, so having the chance to use someone else’s equipment before I could afford to make the investment was something I couldn’t pass up. So my wife bought me my first DSLR only 3 years ago, the Nikon D50. This was an entry level camera that isn’t available anymore. After a year of shooting every day with my D50 something tragic happened and I was forced with a touigh decision, to revive the camera or pull the plug. I pulled the plug and broke up with my D50. My new love was the new Nikon D300. When this camera hit the shelves there were rave reviews across the board.

I chose the Nikon D300 for a couple of reasons. First I love the high ISO output and 2nd the camera doesn’t have the pre-existing settings which forced me to grow as a photographer. I no longer could just twist the dial to the portrait setting. I do shoot weddings and models so it is pretty embarrassing if you’re standing there staring at the camera trying to figure out what settings you need to use.

I recently purchased the Nikon D90 as a backup camera. I was enticed by the HD video feature on the camera and it was competitively priced.

So Nikon meets the needs of what I shoot, people, weddings, and nature. The high ISO flexibility means I’m no longer carrying around a tripod everywhere I go. Here are some shots I have taken with the D300:

Weddings

Models / Celebrities

Kids

Nature

My Gear

Camera Bodies

Nikon D300
Nikon D90

Nikon Lens

70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR
50mm f/1.8D
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 ED
55-200mm f/4.0-5.6G ED

Other Lens

Tamron AF 28-75mm f/2.8
Sigma 15mm F2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye Lens

Flashes

Nikon SB-800 AF Speedlight Flash

Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash
Other

Nikon MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack for Nikon D30

Sekonic L-358 Flash Master Light Meter

Opteka Wireless Radio Remote Release

Computer / Software

iMac 24in

Aperture

Adobe Creative Suite

NIK Color Efex Pro

NIK Silver Efex Pro

Resources / Books / Inspiration

Colorati   Leon Sandoval is the man! http://colorati.com                                                                                                                        One of the main reason’s I got into wedding photography.

Douglas Kirkland – One of Cinema’s greatest on set photographers!  http://www.douglaskirkland.com                                            http://www.amazon.com/Freeze-Frame-Decades-Years-Photographs/dp/0976585197/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242242030&sr=8-10

Vanity Fair – The Portraits                                                  http://www.amazon.com/Vanity-Fair-Portraits-Century-Iconic/dp/0810972980/ref=pd_ts_b_6?ie=UTF8&s=books

Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity and Editorial Photography                                                                             http://www.amazon.com/Lighting-Dramatic-Portrait-Celebrity-Photography/dp/0817442278/ref=pd_ts_b_28?ie=UTF8&s=books

Mark Seliger – my favorite photographer!                                          www.markseliger.com                                             http://www.amazon.com/Physiognomy-Mark-Seliger-Photographs/dp/0821225987/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242242324&sr=1-2

One response

  1. brotherjoe

    of course you know that “Douglas Kirkland – One of Cinema’s greatest on set photographers!” is
    a Canon Photographer. as a matter of fact, i do believe “Douglas Kirkland – One of Cinema’s greatest on set photographers!” is one of Canon’s Elite Explorers of Light. hmmmmmm, interesting isnt it, that you are a fan of “Douglas Kirkland – One of Cinema’s greatest on set photographers!”
    im actually a fan of “Douglas Kirkland – One of Cinema’s greatest on set photographers!” and one of Canon’s finest ambassadors.

    May 14, 2009 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

