harnessing the power of photography for good

Hillsong United Concert

hillsong sign

I remember the first time I heard “Shout to the Lord” by Darlene Zschech of the Hillsong Worship team. I listened to this album so many times I don’t even think the CD works anymore. I fell in love with the lyrics and the evident passion for worship that you can feel when you listen to it. It rubbed off on me because I learned how to worship by worshiping to their songs. I realized that worship wasn’t just about singing and dancing. Its about making the lyrics a personal prayer and cry to the Lord.

I didn’t hear about the Hillsong United team until about a year later when I saw them in concert in LA. I was blown away because they were kids my age! I couldn’t believe that people my age were so on fire for God! I knew then that I was hooked on their music and I now own practically all of their albums.

About a month ago, I had the flu and I couldn’t make it to church one Sunday. It was the same Sunday that The Rock announced that they would be holding a Hillsong United concert and by the time I found out, the tickets were sold out. I was so bummed. But Brother Joe blessed me with the opportunity to cover the event as a Rock Photographer and I was able to enjoy most of the concert after shooting. It was really God’s perfect timing because it was the day after my birthday! The concert was amazing and the best birthday gift! I will never forget it.

wail

If you have never heard the music of Hillsong or Hillsong United, I would strongly encourage you to check them out. You will be blessed! During the concert I was especially inspired by the female vocalist, Brooke Fraser. She quite possibly has the most beautiful voice and is the most talented musician I have seen in a long time. I remember thinking to myself, “Wow, this girl could make millions in the secular music industry if she wanted to!” But she chose to use her gifts for God and His kingdom! As a rookie member of the team, I have been thoroughly inspired, enriched, and honored to serve and glorify God with my gifts. Being part of the team definitely has its perks and being able to cover this event was one of them for me, but I always remember to put God in the center of my passion. I know that it’s not all about me and my own experience but what my documentation of the Rock Church’s experience does to convey God’s incredible work on earth.

YOU ARE MY WORLD lyrics

You are my world
You are my God
And I lay down my life for You
You are my Lord
The One I love
No one could ever take Your place

And everything I have
I give to You, my Lord, the One I live for
I live for You
And all my days are gifts from You
I pray I’d use them as You want me to
Use them for you

stage

 purple girl

 teal girl
brooke fraser
hands

guitarist

2 responses

  1. I agree Brother Joe, Hillsong United has a humility that on can truly appreciate. Brooke is truly a beautiful worshipper. She is a gift to the church. Dave Kinsman

    February 24, 2010 at 9:04 pm

  2. Brooke fraser es lo megor es mi fan numeo 1# me encanta como canta ojala venja a antofagasta vueno chaoooooo

    July 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

