harnessing the power of photography for good

Silent Ride 4 Jesus

Silent Ride 4 Jesus was created by the Rock Mountain Bike Ministry (Rock MTB) to honor Jesus and what He did for us. The Silent Ride was originally created to honor a rider who was hit and killed by a motorist, so the leaders of the Rock Mountain Bike Ministry decided what better way to honor Jesus at this important time of the year by doing the same. By riding in silence on the Saturday before Easter we expose many people to the fun of riding as well as spreading the message of Christ. The ride was setup for everyone to participate not just MTBers.

It was a year ago today that I started with the Rock Photographers and of course my first event was the Silent Ride. I originally came out to hang out with Kevin and the rest of the MTB crew but told them I would bring my camera equipment and get some shots for them. That was when I met up with Brother Joe and the rest is history. My life has been changed ever since getting plugged in with the Photo Ministry. All I can say is that if you are not a part of a ministry yet you really need to find the time. You will be amazed at what God will show you and how much more your life will be blessed.

So back to the Silent Ride… The weather report had me a little concerned but it only sprinkled for a short time during the ride. Even with the finicky weather we still had over 70 riders out for the event. The ride was at Mission Bay and we rode a little over three miles to the picnic area where we had a devotional. Pastor Ricky was there as well as his son, Elisha. Elisha did the devotional and it is amazing how devoted this 9 year old is to lead others to Christ.

Another first was one of our new shooters, Malia. She did an awesome job on roller blades even through the rain. I can’t wait to see the results of her first official shoot with the team. Only time will tell but it sounds like this new shooter is a blogger also so hopefully you will hear from her soon.

This year the event was also held by the local churches of Jackson, MS and hopefully next year we will see this catch on in many other locations. If you would like to learn more about the ministry or just want to come out for a ride check out our site at Rock MTB. Also keep an eye out for the full collection of photos at the Rock Photo Gallery.

God Bless,

Jim Wanglund

you can see pics from this years ride here

One response

  1. Malia Dadez

    Thanks for the shoutout Jim! I had a wonderful time on my first Rock Photographer event. It was definitely a challenge keeping up with my rollerblades so next year I’ll bring my bike even if rain floods my car on the way down! Great images!

    April 15, 2009 at 8:14 am

Leave a Reply

