harnessing the power of photography for good

Salt of the Earth

John 18:36 – Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jews. But now my kingdom is from another place.”

We all have experienced moments in life where we knew we were right, despite the opposition of many. God gives us comfort in the fact that we are not of this world, that we are to be the salt of the earth. As a Christian God calls us to go against the majority and be the one who stands up to deliver the minority report when others who despite knowing the truth choose to look away.

I am proud to say that I am a Nikon shooter in a Canon ministry. I am a chiefs fan in a town proclaiming the chargers. I march to the beat of another drummer. Yet God has brought me into this ministry to be a witness to my brothers. We all have sinned and fallen short, so who am i to judge?

I was blessed to shoot the recent baptism. God reaffirmed me with my Nikon decision. A lot of water was splashed around, yet my camera stayed dry. I quickly went to the aide of my fellow shooters and helped them dry off their inferior equipment. God has called me to serve.

And in that moment when all others were wiping off their cameras, God gave me a glimpse through my lens into his eyes.

And so I fight on.

This is my camera.

There are many like it, but this one is MINE.

 My camera is my best friend. It is my life.

 I must master it as I must master my life.

My camera without me is useless. Without my camera, I am useless.

 I must shoot my camera true.

 I must shoot slower then drive by to save money on memory cards..

 I must get brother Joe to join Nikon. I will...

 My camera and myself know that what counts in war is not the rounds we fire,

 the noise of our bursts, nor the smoke we make.

We know it is the memories captured that count. We will capture...

My camera is human, even as I, because it is my life.

 Thus, I will learn it as a brother.

 I will learn its weaknesses (very few unlike canon), its strengths (many, unlike canon),

its parts, its accessories,its sights, and its lens.

I will ever guard it against the ravages of weather and damage.

 I will keep my camera clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready.

 We will become part of each other. We will...

 My camera and myself are the defenders of my country.

 We are the masters of our enemy.

So be it, until there is no enemy, but PEACE.

I don't think Jessica Alba is ugly.

I'm not ashamed to admit that I listen to Taylor Swift, 

and yes, I am Iron Man
3 responses

  1. brotherjoe

    nice. you make me laugh

    April 13, 2009 at 9:40 pm

  2. Malia Dadez

    hahaha, funny stuff.

    Forgive him Father, he knows not what he does…

    April 14, 2009 at 3:55 am

  3. Jerry Lachowsky

    Yeah, you do rock. But you are not Iron Man. And what is it with you and the Chiefs anyway? Its so much easier to just get with the winners. “Cmon, we’ll take ya back, Trev. ‘Course it takes real heart to be a real Charger fan. KnowWhatIMean, Admiral?

    God’s many blessings on you and your entire household!

    November 4, 2009 at 11:19 pm

Leave a Reply

