harnessing the power of photography for good

Baptism @ The Plunge

Baptism is a Christian’s first declaration of their faith in public. With all of the baptisms that I have experienced throughout my life none have been as significant for me as when I joined the Rock. Yes I was baptised in the very same pool that I am now shooting.

I have covered a few other baptisms with the Rock Photographers but this was my first where I brought my camera into the pool. All I can say is what a blessing that was for not only those proclaiming their faith but for me as well. It reminds me of Pastor Steve Brown and how he taught me to feed myself and to grow as a Christian. How he took the time to listen to me and to take me out of my comfort zone. He really challeged me to become a better Christian.

So back to the present… here I am in the pool and capturing all of these new born again Christians realizing how far I have come in such a short 3 years. That moment when you are giving your testimony and praying with a pastor in the pool is so amazing. The emotion of it all is really easy to get caught up in but our ministry is to capture that moment to remember for all time. Watching all the newly proclaimed in faith emerge from the water with an amazing look of hope and happiness is truly a work of God. It makes me realize how special His unconditional love is to us and how thankful we are to have a life reborn in Him.

In Him,

Jim Wanglund

4 responses

  1. Jen

    😉 Thank you for taking pictures…in the water. That was awesome. When are you planning on posting them? Jen

    April 6, 2009 at 5:43 pm

  2. brotherjoe

    we will have a general gallery of pics up tuesday, with pics of everyone who got dunked up by thursday. check the rock website tuesday nite.

    April 6, 2009 at 10:27 pm

  3. jasminemarie

    Great shots, Jim! You were really right in the actioN!

    April 6, 2009 at 10:49 pm

  4. Jen

    Thanks Joe!

    April 7, 2009 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

