harnessing the power of photography for good

The Cross of Christ

 

The week of camps really drained me physically.  I’m not really sure why, I’ve been to plenty of camps before, but have never felt so tired. I am older, don’t move as fast and a bit rounder, but w age has come some wisdom thankfully, I have learned to shoot smarter, to choose my shots carefully and deliberately, and most importantly, to be Spirit led.  In the end this is the goal for the team, to shoot what God reveals to us, seeking to bring glory to Christ, and show the works of His Spirit.

 

It was a tough week, and I did take some time to rest these past few days, but God reminded me of something I’m fond of saying…there’s plenty of time to rest later, we can all take a nice long dirt-nap at the end of all this. Just ask Jim and Daniel, I said that lots during our time in Jamaica, as we worked late into the night.

Paul reminds us in 1 Corinthians 9:27

            I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching

            to others I myself should be disqualified   (ESV)

           

The NIV says “I beat my body and make it my slave

Discipline is good, but in this case I think I like the NIV’s translation “beating,” sounds tougher, and certainly less appealing than “disciplining” ones body.  This morning’s devotional readings had an excerpt from Interior Castle by St. Teresa of Avila, where she encourages her sisters (and us) to

 

            Reflect carefully on this (the Cross), for it is so important that

            I can hardly lay too much stress on it.  Fix your eyes on the

            Crucified and nothing else will be of much importance to you.

            If his Majesty revealed his love to us by doing and suffering such

            amazing things, how can you expect to please him by words alone?

            Do you know when people really become spiritual?  It is when they

            become the slaves of God and are branded with his sign, which is the

            sign of the Cross, in token that they have given him their freedom.

            Then he can sell (us) as slaves to the whole world, as he himself was sold

 

The application for me is to stop.  Listen to what God is saying to me and be thankful for the privilege I have to documenting what He is doing,  and that there are times when we need to rest, be still, and re-focus in order to be most effective.  But, there is still work to be done, and there will be plenty of time to rest this physical body in the end.  And the Word tells us we will have a new spiritual body when we are with Christ, we won’t need this weak flesh anymore…Praise God! 

Leave a Reply

